Yes, the Internet Point and Insurance Reduction Program (IPIRP) course that we offer is fully approved by the New York DMV as an equivalent to the 6-hour classroom PIRP course.
The New York DMV requires that each IPIRP course be at least 6 hours long. Timers are in place to ensure that each student spends the required minimum amount of time in the course.
New York law requires that the course be completed within 30 days from registration. If you do not complete the course within 30 days, you have the option to re-register for the course at no additional charge, but you will be required to start the course over from the beginning. You may re-register to obtain a new login code, and contact us so we can transfer the payment to the new account.
The IPIRP course teaches important defensive driving strategies, how driver attitude and behavior affect traffic safety, and New York State traffic laws.
No. There is no final exam. At the end of each unit you will be required to pass a five (5) question multiple choice quiz. You will be given three attempts to achieve the passing score (must get at least 4 of the 5 questions correct).
No. The course is available 24 hours a day / 7 days a week from anywhere with Internet access. You can log in and out of the course at your leisure and the course automatically saves the furthest unit and page that you have reached. When you want to leave the course, you can simply log out and then come back to the website and click "Login" to re-enter the course where you can start where you last left off.
During the registration process you received a login code (ex. John123456nys). This code is used to log back into the course. At any point in the course you can choose to log out by clicking on the "Logout" link on the page or just closing your browser. When you want to return to the course, just come back to our website and choose "Login" and you will be prompted to enter your login code. You will then be taken the course main menu, where you can click on the furthest page you reached during your last session. Because of the page timers, we recommend that you always log out from a page that you have not read yet.
When you register for the course, your unique login code is given to you on the screen, and also e-mailed to you. If you happen to lose or forget this information, you can retrieve it via the original e-mail message or click "Login" on our website. You will see a box containing the statement "I forgot my login." Enter the e-mail address you entered during registration and then click the "Remind Me" button. A new e-mail containing your login information will be sent to you. You may also send an e-mail to firstname.lastname@example.org for assistance or call technical support at 1-800-558-9887.
This can be done by clicking on the "My Account" tab while logged into the course. In this section you can review and edit any of the information you provided during registration, except for the phone number set up for validation purposes. That cannot be edited once the course has started.
Yes. After you complete the course, a certificate of completion will be processed and delivered to you via the shipping method you choose. You will need to turn this certificate in to your insurance company to obtain your 10% discount. Your completion will also be reported electronically to the DMV.
If you do not choose an express delivery option then your certificate will be sent via U.S. Mail. Certificates sent via U.S. Mail should be received within 5-7 business days from the date of completion. You will have the option to upgrade your certificate shipping method during registration and post completion.
All certificates are sent via regular U.S. Mail unless you choose to upgrade the shipping method during registration or post completion. You have the opportunity to upgrade your shipping on the website during registration or post completion. We offer 2 Business Day for $20, Standard Overnight (End of business day) for $30, and Priority Overnight (morning delivery) for $35. Certificates are processed at 4:00 PM EST on each business day (Monday - Friday, excluding holidays). If you finish before 4:00 PM on a business day, your certificate will be sent out the same day. If you finish on a weekend, holiday, or after 4:00 PM EST on a business day, your certificate will be sent out on the following business day.
If you do not receive a certificate within 7 business days following course completion, or via the upgraded express shipping method selected after completing the course, please call us at 1-800-558-9887 for assistance.
You can request a copy of your driving record from the NY DMV to verify that you have received credit for the course. See question below for help with ordering a copy of your driving record.
This can be requested from the NY DMV by completing an MV-15 ("Request for Driver and / or Vehicle Record Information") form. It can be printed online via the link provided or obtained at any New York State motor vehicle office. If your course completion has not been noted on your driving record more than ten weeks after you completed the course, please contact us at 1-800-558-9887.
This can occur if your Internet connection is lost. Please make sure that you have not lost service with your provider by trying to visit another webpage and making sure that is successful. The other possible cause is that your browser is blocking cookies, which allow our site to save your progress. It is important that you verify that your browser settings are not set to block third party cookies. The specific steps to enable cookies vary depending on the browser type and version you are using to take the course. Please consult the help section on your browser for specific instructions.
This can occur for one of two reasons. The first and most likely reason is that the course logged you out due to inactivity. If you leave the course idle for more than 1 hour, you will be forced to log back in and pick up on the page you left off on. The other possible cause is that your browser is blocking cookies, which allow our site to save your progress. It is important that you verify that your browser settings are not set to block third party cookies. The specific steps to enable cookies vary depending on the browser type and version you are using to take the course. Please consult the help section on your browser for specific instructions.
If you do not complete the course within 30 days, you have the option to re-register for the course at no additional charge, but you will be required to start the course over from the beginning. You may re-register to obtain a new login code, and contact us so we can transfer the payment to the new account.
If you are disqualified from the course, you can re-register at no additional charge, but you will be required to start the course over from the beginning. You may re-register to obtain a new login code, and contact us so we can transfer the payment to the new account.
If you are disqualified from the course due to failed unit quizzes, you will be required to register and start the course over from the beginning.
When you complete the course, you receive a certificate of completion that must be turned in to your auto insurance company. When they receive your proof of completion, a minimum 10% reduction will be applied to the base rate of the insurance premiums of your liability and collision insurance. This reduction will remain in effect for three years and you may renew it after each 3-year period has ended.
The point reduction benefit only applies to driving record points that are assigned by the DMV. Insurance companies have a separate set of points that they use to determine your rates. Taking the IPIRP course for point reduction will not have any effect on the points your insurance company assigns for crashes or violations. Also, taking the IPIRP course will not prevent or reduce the calculation of points affecting a "Driver Responsibility Assessment."
The processing and delivery of your certificate of completion will begin immediately after you have passed the course. When you receive your certificate, present it to your auto insurance provider or agent within 90 days and your liability and collision premium reduction will begin immediately. The discount will be applied retroactive to the date you completed the course. If you wait longer than 90 days to turn in your certificate, your insurer might just issue the premium discount effective from the date you present your certificate.
The course can be taken once every 36 months (i.e. three years) for this purpose. You can take the course as many times as you wish to maintain your insurance discount.
No, the 3-year, 10% insurance reduction applies to the base rate that is in effect at the time you complete the course, but taking the course will not prevent general premium increases or an increase in rates caused by crashes or violations.
The insurance premium reduction applies to all motor vehicles principally operated by the motorist who completes the course. The reduction can be applied to only one driver for each covered vehicle.
Yes. The discount applies to any insured driver who completes the course and is listed as the principal operator. That driver must have a driver's license, not a learner's permit.
This is determined by your insurance company or agent. Please contact them to determine whether an additional discount is to be granted.
Point reduction means that the New York DMV will not count up to four points on your driving record toward license suspension or revocation. Point reduction can only be applied to points you received within the 18 months prior to completing the course, and it cannot be used as "credit" toward points from future tickets.
Point reduction will not reduce your point total lower than zero. For example, if you have three points on your record and you take the IPIRP course for point reduction, your total after completing the course will be zero.
The course can only be taken once in any 18-month period for point reduction.
No, you do not have to notify the DMV. The course provider, Driver Training Associates, will notify the DMV once you have completed the course. The DMV will then note your completion on your driving record and will reduce your active point total by up to four points.
The course will reduce up to 4 points on your record. The actual number of points reduced will be determined by the DMV computer.
If your license has already been revoked or suspended, or if a violation hearing has already been scheduled, point reduction will not affect that action.
No. Your driving record will continue to show most violations, convictions, and the points associated with them for up to four years. Violations and convictions for drug or alcohol-related offenses will remain on your driving record for ten years.
Please consult the New York DMV's C-32A brochure for complete information about the Point Insurance Reduction Program (PIRP).